Can't play DPS, but I placed higher than healer?!

I have played tank and heal a lot more than DPS since OW came out. Basically because I’m not very good at fast aiming. I do like playing DPS, as the team needs it and for fun. But I’m not great and need to play with others at low skill level. I’m an OK tank and healer though.

So I was extremely surprised to see that despite losing all 5 DSP matchs, (probably because of me… I was awful) I placed higher than my healer rank, which I won/lost 3/2 I think.

This is a serious problem for me, because if I want to play DPS I have to play with people much better than me. I can’t out DPS the other team. I get moaned at and essentailly have to stop playing DPS in ranked.

I want to play ranked DPS to improve, but I want to be placed at a suitable level, like low silver.

Why did I get placed so high DPS? All 3 role ranks were around 100 SR of last seasons end SR. I think this is a flaw in the role queue logic.

5 Likes

Blizzard have no idea where to rank you, so they made a system that basically goes hurdyhurr and then places you too high on the rank ladder. Personally I see it as the system exposing blizzard’s own design flaw of rewarding non-cooperative behaviour (not grouping, doing solo stuff, getting big plays mostly) in dps much more than in other roles.

8 Likes

Same problem

I rarely tank and with these placements I rank 400 points higher as tank than as healer (which I main in competitive). The system is completely broken. I can’t believe this sh*t to be honest.

8 Likes

Because whereas you may think your support and tank player is better, the reality is whereas you might ‘survive’ you are having not as much impact in your matches.