Azmodan's algorithms and data structures tutorial

Hi there i’m a CS undergraduate and would like to help some of you by sharing a bit of my knowledge.

As of now this guide is incomplete many additions will be made through next the weeks. The purpouse of this guide is to analize and give not only a more analitical perspective but also share some tips and tricks.

From the start I will metion Computational Cost ( O(1),O(n),…O(n!) ) that will be explained later in the computational cost section don’t worry if you don’t understand at first.

Data Types

strongly typed means you do not have to specify the data type that will be held in a variable

ARRAYS

An Array is a type of data structure used to hold multiple data in an orderly fashion. It can either be homogeneous or heterogeneous and is usually represented with the square brackets:

array = [2,3,46]

BEWARE
*In OW Workshop you cannot put strings into arrays only float/double, int and objects. (for objects see OOP online for more information)

BEING PRECISE

OW as some other programming languages doesn’t have the Array Type but rather something called a List or an ArrayList.

*The difference lies in the fact that with arrays you have to specify the length when creating it and once you have occupied all slots you must create another one an add one at a time all the elements of the previous array to sort of add more slots to it.

List do this automatically unless they are linked list, in that case they are kind of different.

HOMOGENOUS

It means that it can only hold one data type at a time. Most programming languages like C,C++ or Java only support homogeneous arrays and in that case it must be first initialized, specifying the type it will hold:

JAVA EXAMPLE

/*just a java implementation it is not well commented so don't bother with it unless you are curious enough to do research.
*/
List<Integer> list = new ArrayList<>();
//list.add("alfa") doesn't work: throws an error
list.add(3) //works