To you beginners, take a maintenance day off once a week

First off I am new to the Diablo/Dianlo 3 community. I have never played Diablo 1 and 2. So even though I have well over hundred hours of in game time in Diablo 3, I have never played the other two games. I am no expert in this game or it’s lore and I do understand this has a very old following and long history. This suggestion is therefore meant for beginners like me and I am willing to take any advice you senior players might have.

First I play one of my NPC’s to the end of the game so I can have lots of gold and jewels. I have already maxed out my jeweler and blacksmith and you should to, my opinion. I have started taking every Saturday as a maintenance day. I take all my NPC’s unload all their jewels into my stash. I then use one NPC to update all my jewels to as high a level as I can. I also go over all my gear and sell, stash or give my blacksmith any gear I do not need. I take time to look each of my six NPC’s over to make sure they are at their strongest and meanest. I also use this time to make sure my follower is at his/her best. After all this is when I get rid of any of that gear I do not need. It is now that I decide which NPC’s I am going to play and load for the next week and I only load my best jewels. One more thing if you finish at least one of your NPC’s you have many advantages for your other lower NPC’s.

This is just an ideal I have that works for me, nothing more. BTW as an old Skyrim fan I love this game. Sorry for not using the proper Diablo language.

First off, welcome to the Diablo 3 community, Nephalem!

A bit of friendly advice for you–combining/upgrading any gems below marquise or imperial grade is actually a waste of time and resources. Once you hit level 61 with any of your characters, the imperial & marquise gems pile up fairly quickly. And since there are no level requirements for gems, your lower-level characters can also use them.