Mastering Lightning - The Manald Heal

Here is my current build, incomplete and probably wont change much. Im kitted for survival in hardcore. I discovered lightning (usually never use it) then found a YouTuber who mentioned the manald heal, but he seems to not have fully tested it. So I have and will give my conclusions.

So the YouTuber focuses solely on chain lightning and he has teleport (useless) and a few other things I think useless.

First off, he gets the proc behavior wrong and chocks it up to randomness. It’s not random, its based on “each use” of a spell.

Primary chain lightning is considered a channelling spell. As long as it is channeling it is only considered one instance of the spell.

I have proven this repeatedly where you can sit for days and cast chain lightning and get nothing. But as soon as you start casting other lightning spells you get the proc of Paralysis.

Chain lightning can also proc.

So what did I do? Well Im new to GRs so I dont know if this will become unsurvivable but lets start with why teleport is a waste.

First, everything dies at GR20+ still even with my suboptimal gear and no cubed items etc.

I dont mean everything maybe dies. I mean Rift bosses die when they are spawning in, and every mob melts.

So you dont need teleport, you can literally walk the rift in 3 minutes.

You dont need attack speed either, thats a waste. Because the number of times you hit isnt what makes proc work. Its the number of instances of hits.

So what I use is lightning hydra with helm that does frost aura.

I use arcane orb with lightning because it hits up to 15 enemies a shot.

I use diamond skin with added absorb because theres really only two threats you will have.

1. you will get locked down in a dying mob’s nukes.

2. you will get teleported into a dying mob’s nukes.

I use Rimeheart and I use the boots that set the ground on fire and I use the poison legendary gem. Why?

More hits.