Don't know how to use Shenlong's Spirit

I’ve been playing Necromancer constantly for years now. It was just this season I figured I should actually try to play any other class. So I’m trying to figure out Monk.

I’m currently exploring the Uliana build. I’m a total Monk noob so I’m still experimenting with various runes for different skills etc. A lot of Uliana guides suggest using Shenlong’s Spirit for weapons. I finally got both pieces but I can’t really figure out how to use them in gameplay.

1. I run out of spirit constantly. I do have Epihany on numlock but I still run out of spirit instantly. I only use my primary briefly, just long enough to apply exploding palm. I don’t generate enough spirit to keep it up.

2. Beacuse of the above I rarely manage to actually get the set bonus from Shenlong. It happens randomly maybe four, five times during a rift when I luck out and accidently manage to hit maximum spirit.

I simply don’t understand how to use the Shenlong set. From what I understand, the ultimate use would be to let the set bonus kick in once - then manage your spirit to be somewhere between zero and max to keep up the set bonus. But never actually hit zero. I’m at zero and a little above all the freaking time. I’m doing something completely wrong and can’t figure out what.

I’m far from a monk noob and I can’t recall a single Uliana build that utilizes Shenlong’s. Shenlong’s are used in generator builds like Raiment and Inna and in the current season with the new Patterns of Justice set due to the additional cube slot. The typical weapons for Uliana is Fist of Az’Turasq and Lion’s Claw and cube The Flow of Eternity.