Diablo IV Skill Tree Feedback

First off I’d like to say I love the visual design of a literal skill tree! Looks great!

I just wanted to create a discussion about meaningful player choice, and simulated player choice in game design – a subject that as a player, I am no expert on.

What I can tell you, from a player’s perspective, is that lately I’ve noticed a trend of what I call “simulated choice.”

This would be a talent or skill tree system, where the player’s only meaningful decision is perhaps the first invested point on the tree. This is the only place where the player has a wide variety of meaningful choice, because from that point on, the player is more or less on a railroad track down the branch. I would imagine this is done to prevent players from accidentally spreading themselves too thin? I am not sure. But it is an alarming trend in talent system design.

Even with a few side choices down that branch (passive nodes), investing down one track with minimal deviation of the branch does not feel good.

The counter argument of course, is that “the player has the freedom to invest into any branch they like!” This is simulated choice.

I believe practical, meaningful player choice can still be achieved through a myriad of connections between the branches, rather than singular, isolated paths.

Again, this is just my humble opinion as a player, speculating on early screenshots of a system we cannot see entirely. I just am trying to give feedback about what feels good vs. what does not.

I hope either devs or other players can contribute their thoughts or ideas here.

How can we keep every single point a meaningful choice, throughout the branch of a tree? Limited options, but more powerful? Or a multitude of options, at less power? I think it’s the latter. What do you think?

14 Likes

Passive/skill tree is getting better but still has a way to go.