D2 Resurrected Request: Hardcore PK Fix

I’ve got a D2 Resurrected feature request. I would have posted it in the D2 Resurrected forum, but apparently you can’t post there until you pre-order the game. This a real kick in the pants to loyal D2 players. I’ve been playing and supporting this game for 20 years and my input is valueless because I didn’t pledge to buy a game with zero reviews and no release date? Wow…

Anyway, here’s my request: fix the multiple PK hacks in hardcore mode. There is next to no dueling in hardcore, just griefers with hacked or bought gear trying to kill legit players. Most of the PK hacks I’ve seen (WP kills, hydra kills, guided arrow kills) involve hostiling your opponent and immediately attacking before the player can react to the hostile notification. These types of kills were expressly NOT supposed to be part of the game. That’s why the hostile system requires players to go to town before going hostile. That was supposed to be a mechanism to allow players to decline a duel. But in practice that mechanism isn’t working. Here are a few suggestions on how this can be fixed. Please keep in mind I propose these fixes only for Hardcore. I think these fixes are in line with the developers’ stated intent of keeping the game the same.

1. Pressing the hostile button vs another player will send a global message saying the player will be hostile in one minute. After one minute’s time, dueling proceeds as normal. This would give legit players who don’t want to duel time to get to safety away from a griefer.

2. Require both players to go hostile before a duel can take place.

3. Have a game option at game instance creation that will allow the game maker to decide whether players in the game can hostile at all. If this option is allowed, you’d have to allow players to filter the “join game” list to only show games with this option.

12 Likes

I never pvp in hc but I did enjoy it sometimes when I used to play softcore.