Video and audio stuttering suddenly after recent update/patch

I started playing D2R a couple weeks ago, and it has been running great. Consistent 120 fps, no performance issues of any kind. I was impressed.

Since yesterday, the game is running poorly. The FPS is very inconsistent, frames are dropping, stuttering is very apparent, and the audio cuts out each time it stutters. This baffles me because I didn’t change a thing with my PC. No new software, drivers, or hardware changes. It’s unplayable.

I’ve tried changing every graphics setting in game, including capping my FPS to 60. Capping the fps to 60 still results in very choppy performance. I have tried every single solution imaginable that I could find online. In particular, setting the CPU priority to high, closing every single background program I can, disabling any overlay. After all of this troubleshooting, I made sure my GPU drivers were up to date. Finally, I tried reinstalling and resetting the settings.

When the game is paused at the menu, it runs fine and doesn’t stutter. The game also seems to stutter more often when I’m pressing keys on the keyboard - holding down any key just makes it stutter like crazy.

All of my other games work just fine. D2R too, up until today. Others are having the same issue I am, same as when this patch was released, as reported here: Reddit - Dive into anything

PC: i7-12700k, rtx 4080, 32gb ram, nvme ssd, Windows 10.

EDIT: It turns out there was a minor patch/update a couple days ago for all platforms, which might be the reason why this is happening.

I’m having the same exact problems since the patch update. Never had any issues before. RTX 3070, i7. So frustrating, as the game is almost unplayable with this amount of stuttering. Please let me know if you find a fix…I’ve tried everything.