Total Newb Questions - Summoner Necro Leveling

I have seen a lot of guides that explain builds and list end game gear, but what kind of gear should I be looking for as I level? What should I prioritize when choosing gear? I know that +skill (especially Raise Skeleton) gear is great, but apart from wands, I haven’t found much of that while leveling.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

1 Like

This is pretty common, actually. Most guides are like that, and assume you’re going to level with a “generic” build then spend a respec on the actual build later.

If you’re just looking for that sort of thing, Google this:

Icy Veins Necromancer Fastest Leveling Build in Diablo 2

It should be the first result.

This is a build I moded up so you can see gear that will get you through hell. I made it through hell with the ‘real’ gear meaning that’s all you need to get you to the end. If gear is not listed you can use anything with an emphasis on getting resists.

https://d2.maxroll.gg/d2planner/7g0106y0#2

Necro can do hell naked. Rondels build shows the important stuff:
-get as much +skills as possible (runewords)
-get a sturdy merc with much CB
-Amp+CE

The lower your gear (and higher the player count) is, the smarter you need to be with curses. Especially true if you want to recover your body in a p8 game…requires a geared merc tho.

As an aside I would add that with a summoner, don’t get too carried away with walk/run speed on your stuff especially if you’re not using a teleport staff. If you get too far ahead of your minions it’s roughly a coin flip as to whether they will auto-tele to you or simply vanish.

I appreciate the responses, but somehow no one actually addressed my question.