Nova Sorc Merc Infinity bug?

Hi there.

Im fairly new to advanced D2(r)-play.

I’ve made my first Nova Sorc. I put Infinity on my Merc and expected to one-shot every mob in the game!

Sadly this isn’t so. Not even close, actually. Lightning immune mobs do shed their immunity, but they are still almost immune! It takes like 15-20 pulses for them to die.

It’s quite a different story if I equip Infinity myself though. Then I can take them down with 4-5 pulses. (Im not THAT well geared yet, so I wouldn’t expect to one-shot anyone anyway)

But I don’t get it. Everywhere I read that the Merc should wield the Infinity, but it’s nearly impossible to grind act 5 hell at this pace!

Does anyone know what the deal is with this? Am I doing something wrong or not doing something?

It’s not a bug. If you look at the stats of infinity:

Level 12 Conviction Aura When Equipped
+35% Faster Run/Walk
+255-325% Enhanced Damage
-(45-55)% To Enemy Lightning Resist
+40% Chance of Crushing Blow
Prevent Monster Heal
0.5-49.5 To Vitality (Based on Character Level)
30% Better Chance of Getting Magic Items
Level 21 Cyclone Armor (30 Charges)

You’ll see that it has -45 to -55% to enemy lightning resistance. In addition to the effects of the level 12 Conviction that you normally enjoy while it’s on your mercenary, you gain this stat when you equip it on your sorceress. If Conviction breaks the monsters lightning immunity, then the monsters lightning resistance is reduced by another 45 to 55%, which means the monsters that the lightning immunity is broken will have at most 44-54 lightning resistance. This stat ONLY affects the wearer.

So you’re saying that the -45% to -55% reduced lightning res only kicks in if Im wearing the Infinity myself?

What do Nova Sorcs use then? I don’t suppose they all run around with Infinity?

That is correct.

Whatever is most effective with what you have available, I suppose. :slight_smile:

https://d2.maxroll.gg/guides/nova-sorceress-guide