Is Poison with Magic viable for budget/casual build?

Hi,

I am a bit new to Necros as I usually play Amazons, Druids and Sorceresses, but I decided to give the Necro a go. I personally do not like to follow official guides and prefer creating characters that can clear all areas (maybe except the ubers, but that is a bit different story), but I am curious if anyone of you have ever used the posion nova + bone spear together and you think is viable or not? As respeccing is limited - given I do not play 20+ hours a day -, I am interested in opinions.

My plan is to have 20-20 pts on the two main skills and one of their synergies, have a golem like the druid’s bear, 1 pts up to Lower Resist and having an Act 2 merc with Obedience. This would be a budget build, I already have a few good items from my other casters, so the only thing is the leveling and then having a skill distribution that fits my playstyle and plans. Due to prerequisites I would have Corpse Explosion and I guess(?) I can spend all remaining skill points on it to increase its radius, so at the end I would have about 1500 poison damage per second, around 1k magic damage and from CE and my Merc I would have the third type of damage as physical.

I’d appreciate all help! :slight_smile:

What do you think?

1 Like

Generally most will do a summon/poison or summon/Spear hybrid. Those options give you the meat shields to get your ‘lower damage’ spells off.