Character ordering on the select screen

Before January I played on my older PC and the character selector showed me the recently used characters properly, even when I logged out.

Since early January playing on my new PC the ordering changed to - I think - the creation date of each chars. My very first character is a Druid that is now in Non-Ladder and I have not played with it for quite some time now. The newly created Ladder Sorc is always at the bottom of the list, and I can only see her at the top until I log out of the game and close the BNet client.

Has something changed or is this a bug? On my new PC I installed a brand new version of the game, but now it is on a different drive than it was on my old PC. Can this be a reason why the ordering is messed up?

1 Like

Not sure, it is still ordering characters based on last use for me and I am also on PC

1 Like

I am a developer and this is why my first and only guess is that the difference could be in the drive letters. On my old PC the game was installed onto my C drive, but on my new PC it is now installed on drive D. I did not copy-paste any files, so I dont really see how things like file cache could cause this problem. Also, I am running everything in admin mode.

I had a lap top when I first installed D2r.
Characters stacked by last one played.
I bought a new PC, and installed the game…
Characters stacked in no determinable order.
Laptop continued to show order by last played… ?
Over time, the PC has become my more used rig.
Now, PC shows characters in last used order.
Laptop shows then all jambled up.

Also, every time I log onto game on laptop my hot keys are all messed up… have to reset them every time… then I log into my PC, and, hotkeys are normal/as-assigned.
(in game “menu’s… you know, escape/options…” they never change, but actual key assigned gets altered somehow).

So odd.
2 computers, 1 account…