Real ID still showing when option is disabled (privacy violation)

My real name is displayed to someone who added me as a friend a long time ago, (I disabled the show real ID option weeks ago)
the forums say this issue was recently resolved sept 2020 but it is not as of Oct 2020 (someone left a very unhelpful reply to someone else haven’t the same issue). This bug was verified on computers on the same network.