I can't add phone numbers to account and already in use

Recently since OW2 is coming, I tried to add my phone number to my account. I typed in sms code, But it says it’s in use already. I have never attached this phone number to any other account before, and this is the only account I have been using for 6 years. I have two setup with email as well. Not sure which step goes wrong. My current phone plan is not prepaid, so my only guess is the number have been used a long time ago.

I have created a support ticket in queue, but not sure how long it would take to respond. Since OW 2 will debut in just a few days, I wanted to see if there’s a quick fix.

20 Likes

I’m trying to do the same thing since it’s now a requirement. The problem I’ve had is the “add a phone number” section in my account seems to just not work at all. It says it’s sending an SMS code to my phone for verification, but it never does. I’ve got a post-paid phone, and I’ve actually recently added it to my steam account.

I’m not sure what’s going on, but it seems to be on Blizzard’s end unfortunately. Hopefully they sort it out soon! I’m actually really excited to potentially see less smurf accounts and cheaters, but until it lets me actually add my number, I guess I’ll be spending time elsewhere.

12 Likes

I have the same issue, I get the code they send to my phone. But it says it is already in use. But I haven’t attached it to any account. And since the only way to remove the phone number from the account it is attached to, and I dont know what account that is, I am stuck in a limbo. I have owned that phone number since 2006.

14 Likes