What happened to the mage?

I started playing at the end of cataclysm as a paladin, I had no idea what I was doing I was 11 or 12 at the time. After playing with the pally for awhile I saw a class that looked visually amazing to me I loved the spells it casted and it looked cool. I found it that class was the mage so i tried it and fell in love. The mage has been my all time favorite class since then and more recently something has happened and I just cant pin point it. The mage doesnt feel the same anymore and it doesnt feel right. Its to a point where I just dont like it anymore. Does anyone else feel this way and maybe know why?

3 Likes

GCDs, prunes, etc. I miss Frostfire bolt.

9 Likes

me too. i miss that and actually using mirror image was something aswell

Up through Cataclysm, the general design of the mage was “huge tool chest full of magical abilities”. Mages had an ability and/or talent for just about any given situation, even if it wasn’t always optimal, which made them interesting to play and very versatile, especially outside of instanced stuff.

MoP started peeling that away a bit by introducing the pigeonholed spec design, making it impossible to hybrid spec and restricting a few abilities to specific trees, but overall mages were still in pretty good shape.

WoD absolutely gutted the mage class. Of all the classes, it was easily one of the hardest hit. Some abilities were removed outright and countless others got locked to a single spec. Mages got downgraded from magical toolchest to magical dollar store screwdriver kit.

Legion patched things up reasonably well with the abilities and talents granted by artifact weapons and legendaries. For the entire stretch between mid and late Legion, all 3 specs were pretty decent.

BfA took our artifacts and legendaries and replaced them with Azerite. A few of the old artifact abilities got rolled into their respective specs, but most didn’t, leaving some specs with gaps.