Tips for healing M+?

To start - I’m very casual and not an epic healer by any stretch.

That said, I’m completely new to M+ and worked my way to SD +10 and the party dropped out after first boss and I’m pretty sure my healing just wasn’t good enough.

The pally tank was spiking heavily on each pull and some explosive were missed so group healing was high but more importantly, my hard efforts at I’ll 248 showed me at an overall

4.7k hps
1.2k dps

I ended up having to focus heal flash of light and LotM on tank while mixing in empowered WoG (vanquisher) to heal party. I’m on at 2 piece in tier.

Other than explosive, the dps weren’t really standing where they shouldn’t, I was just not able to heal through the tank damage. Tanks gear ilvl255.

Without logs to show, what are some tips to heal m+10 and up?

Look for Ellesmere on twitch and watch how he heals and check out his wingsisup website. He is mostly playing Holy Priest now days but if you can find his older recordings and watch this.

If you are spamming Flash of Light you are doing something really wrong. You should not be spamming that spell.

Stand at a practice dummy and work on building Holy Power as fast as you can and spend that Holy Power on healing. The faster you can build and spend holy power the better healer you will become.

The only time I ever cast Flash of Light is when I can’t build and spend Holy Power which should almost be never.

2 Likes

To add to this, casting of flash of light on the beacon will get you holy power which can help if you just can’t be in melee for w/e reason for a bit

1 Like

I think, for this group, that was my problem. I can usually start each pull with atleast 3 holy power ready.

Normally I open with a couple melee crusader strikes and if I need a Holy shock on party after those 2 globals, toss a HS on someone.