The Dark Portal

Asking for a spoiler here. People that don’t want to know should not read.

What happens if you go in it?

I started playing Wow just after TBC launched so I was curious about whether The portal was there or not in this version of the game. When I got a quest to go there at 40, I got my answer. I rode my shiny new mount down the road and saw that it was there, as I recalled, surrounded by demons, presumably from Outland. I was somewhat disappointed at that. I was hoping to find some content that predated anything connected with outland. I tried to ride through the demons and got slaughtered. Having not much coin, I decided to just GY rez and find out later.

So, anyone done it? I’m guessing it’s just empty space or that it may cause a game glitch or something weird.

I think it’s an invisible wall.

2 Likes

In classic, absolutely nothing happens. It’s just… there. You can walk through the portal graphic and nothing will happen or it might be, as Astrius said, an invisible wall. I can’t remember exactly.

Similar to the big portal in the middle of Duskwood, the portal at the entrance to Karazhan (hidden behind a gate), and even the portal in the sewer area of Stormwind (also hidden behind a gate).

2 Likes

I always thought that the dark portal should have been in rubble because canonically it was destroyed at the end of Warcraft 2 when the Alliance won that war.

Should have had to do a quest to rebuild it just before TBC a’la the gates of AQ opening.

1 Like

Been wondering about those too but wasn’t gonna ask :smiley: Guessing there is also the weird cave entrance in south Winterspring that gives an error message because Mount Hyjal is under construction

You got it. It’s believed that it was meant to be a raid instance back in the day but wasn’t used.

I don’t remember if they did anything with it in Cata or it just disappeared.