Targeting in dungeons

Hey guys!

So I’m a newbie overall (4 months) and an absolute newbie tank with just 1 dungeon under my belt. Which went atrotiously, but the other players were very understanding as I warned them up front that I was rather incompetent as a tank.

Hoping for some help with targeting. I’ve always struggled in targeting in dungeons. I usually main a mage and my dps is seriously hurt sometimes due to struggling to find a target in the mobs. Now I’m trying to tank, it’s a much bigger issue. Any tips on making it easier?

I’ve got enemy name plates on. Friendlies nameplates are off. Tab targeting just never seemed to work as a mage (and I’m assuming is not a good idea as a tank).

Any other ideas or is it just something you learn to do faster as you play more?

Also: Provoke: Does this only provoke the target you have selected, or will it provoke others around as well? I’m trying to work out how to pull multiple units in but if they’re a bit distanced (as they are in low level dungeons), I seem to have to run up to them.

If it doesn’t work on multiple targets, is it just best to keep an eye on provoke and take an extra second to click off my current target to provoke a new one in when cooldown is off?

First to go over a lot of this need to know what lvl is the monk.

This one is fixed with addons. You can make it where they wont overlap and instead stack on top of each over. Makes things easier.

I like this addon for health bars on enemy. https://www.curseforge.com/wow/addons/kuinameplates
You can also change the color of health on the bar to change whether they were targeting you or not.
That way you know if you need to taunt them off someone.

No mobs have a “taunt” diminishing return, do it too much and they become immune.

Btw taunt is just what tank classes and their off specs all have one, it instantly forces your target to focus you instead of what they were.