RP Realm History

Active RP realms are such a curious and niche community. Plenty of “RP” realms don’t have an active community beyond a few private guilds you have to be connected to.
I started playing on Moon Guard during the end of BC, and world RP was quite active. Recently I started wondering about how World RPing got started in WoW, and the history of in-game RP and which servers were the “hub” at different points in time until it became the even split between MG and WRA most of us know now.

I am curious if anyone from the 2004 launch who played on 1 of the 5 RP realms is around who can comment.

1 Like

I hosted an RP story telling contest on ED with over 20 attendees last night. I really don’t know who’s decided there’s only the two active RP servers but they’re demonstrably wrong.

But for my part I played on Venture Co. in Vanilla through Wrath. I was in the Blacktooth Grin and in conjunction with other guilds on both the Red and Blue team we launched fairly epic RPPVP campaigns across Azeroth. At one point battling the Alliance from Arathi all the way to the gates of Ironforge. I met up with my old guildies in Classic and as they told it Cata’s introduction of flying really killed WPvP. And that was a pretty severe blow to the RPPVP community.

I initially came back in Legion and went back to VCO, but my old guild and friends were long gone, so I went to ED as it was the other RPPVP server and more importantly was in sync with my timezone.

We’ve a pretty interlinked community of various RP guilds that’s allowed us to set up larger scale events, like yesterday’s contest and recently some RPPVP campaigns of our own. The friendliness between the Red and Blue guilds allows for some honor system ground rules, and even when people cheat the net gun at least removes the invulnerability of flight, so we’re seeing large scale RPPVP really become feasible again.