Race lore questions

Hey guys im in the process of trying to decide what race to make my warrior, and im new to the horde as a whole so im not sure much about the races lore.

I’m between mag har and zandalari troll. basically what my questions are is are these races known to wear plate armor? most times I see them they are wearing little to no armor at all, and if thats the case I would feel weird playing one decked out in the transmogs I like to wear.

Also Ik the zandalari trolls are similar to the ancient Aztecs but I have no clue what inspired the orcs in wow. part of me thinks vikings maybe? but I also dont think that would be true due to the vrykul being the viking inspired race in wow. what do you guys think?

1 Like

I would say the original Orcs were more akin to the Mongolian Horde in its early days. Various tribes would meet and share and trade, they had a shared culture and values, they valued strength and martial prowess.

The introduction of the Legion in the MU and Garrosh in the AU changed them into something other than that.

As far as full plate - it might not be popular, but it is a thing. The Maghar adopted alot of bulky designs from Garrosh and Blackfuse. Doomhammer had a full set and Thrall wore it on occasion.

As far as the Trolls wearing full plate - that seems fine too. While many other Trolls run around in rags, Zandalari do wear alot of finery. A big bulky Plate suit seems fine by me on a Zandalari.

5 Likes

It never occurred to me they were based off the mongolians that makes alot of sense actually. are there any trolls you are aware of in the lore that wore plate armor?

Well Bloodlord Mandokir wears Troll-Styled plate. He comes to mind first.

ZA and ZG have some Troll styled plate. It is a thing. Should check out those dungeons for Mog ideas.

Rawani Kanae is a Zandalari Paladin so I assume she wears plate. She is the first boss for the Alliance in BoD. She replaces the Dark Iron that the Horde faces.