Newer player. Need help planning for new expansion

I started playing WoW at the end of the Legion expansion and the leveling of my main took me forever and I never reached level cap until after BFA dropped. Because of this I don’t know how to handle a new expansion from day one. Idk if I should just get my main to the new level cap, make an alt now and start leveling, or make an alt when Shadowlands drops. I’m pretty sure I’m overthinking this but I would love to hear what the best methods of experiencing a new expansion are.

If you want to level up alts, right now is a great time to do it with the 100% XP bonus.

Beyond that:

The main advantage to leveling alts before shadowlands is that you’ll have some options when it lands if you want to swap mains. (While they aren’t predicting any major class changes, sometimes even the small ones can change how you enjoy a class.)

The main advantage for waiting is that they will be updated the leveling process, so absent the 100% XP buff, it may be faster to level them in Shadowlands. It will definitely be more streamlined, and easier to experience a whole expansion’s story.

1 Like

I would level alts now with the 100% exp buff, which is faster than after Shadowlands launches. Additionally, when Shadowlands launches you’ll probably want to play Shadowlands where almost everyone is playing.

Part of this depends on what you want to do in the new expansion. Do you want to be able to join a raiding guild and start content at the beginning? Do you want to be doing heroics as fast as you can? Do you want to take your time, level, get loremaster, raise your professions?