New to wow, not healing

Hello Priest community,

I just started playing wow yesterday. I decided to roll a priest, as healing is my favorite character type. I’m no stranger to the healing classes in mmo’s.
I made it to level 12ish and decided to try my hand at healing in wow. I think the name of the instance was freehold. We zone in and there was a bear tank so I’m assuming a Druid, the tank proceeds to pull the first pack then the next. They begin to take some big damage so I begin to heal with flash heal, I should have stated that I’m holy spec, well the flash heal was healing for 113 that’s all. Then the dps begins to take damage and things went down hill from there.

Well the tank left after the wipe and the group fell apart! Is healing while leveling always this way or am I just not geared enough as a fresh character and account and no toolkit to work with. I most definitely felt I didn’t have the healing power or toolkit to finish that instance. Any tips to help a new player would be great!

1 Like

If the tank is doing their job proper, and the DPS aren’t pulling ahead of the tank, they really shouldn’t be taking damage in those earlier dungeons.

You want to save Holy Word: Serenity for when someone takes a big burst of damage and then use it to counter. It’s good for those unexpected drops in HP because it’s instant cast. In between Serenity’s you just keep casting Heal on anyone who isn’t at full health. You can also make sure the tank has Renew on them while in combat to help out.

A more advanced trick that helps a lot of healers in this game is: casting a heal on someone you think is going to take damage by the time the cast is over, and then canceling the cast if your ally never took the damage you thought they might, and then repeating (you can cancel cast by moving or pressing esc).