New to WoW, having trouble getting around zone to zone

I’m new to WoW, but not new to mmos in general and I’m having difficulties getting around the world. I’m lvl 18 Elf on Darnassus.

There no markers/legends on the map what so ever, how the heck do I find anything? I understand this is a very old game but damn the map is useless. Also finding any vendor npcs etc… is a pain because they’re not shown on the map. So how do I go from zone to zone?

I haven’t played alliance or low zones much, but In Stormwind, there is a board which gives you zone options and initial quests. After you start first the quest in a new zone, the quests take you throughout the zone. In the past, I always went to Ogrimmar at level 10 to get initial quests for zones. Save all your gold to buy larger bags.

I would queue for a few random dungeon finder dungeons (I key), and use the stormwind board to start in a new zone at level 20. Also, there are a massive amount of you tube videos on all things WoW.

1 Like

Darnassus can be a bit tricky until you get a quest to actually leave it. I’ll touch on that in a minute.

But you’ll find as you keep leveling that any time you acquire a quest that’s in a different zone, the game will still place an objective marker on your main map. The moment you pick up the quest, an arrow on the minimap will also pop up showing you which general direction it’s in. If you don’t have a zone fully explored to see the exits to other zones, just find the nearest path or road that takes you in that direction and it will generally lead you there without issue. In the event of a quest being on a different continent, the objective marker will lead you to the nearest portal to get to where you need to go.