MW Monk Noob Question

Hi everyone,

I’m considering creating a MW monk, as I find myself drawn to the class fantasy and that they don’t seem to have numerous cooldowns/spells to keep track of. However, I’m new to WoW and enjoy healing/supporting/casting from a distance. I’m not at much into offensive spells, especially at melee range.

I’m reading mixed responses regarding if MW monk needs to be in melee range or if they can still play effectively from a distance. Will someone kindly elaborate? The last thing I want is to play mw monk sub-par and/or waste time leveling something that isn’t a good fit for me.

Thanks in advance. :slight_smile:

Most of the discussion here really only affects the players doing the highest levels of content, Mistweaver is perfectly capable of playing at range without ever dropping into melee for a lot of content.
I will note, however, that a large portion of mistweaver leveling is going to be like a melee class, our only real ranged spell Crackling Jade Lightning is not exactly a powerful one. If you enjoy ranged playstyles then the leveling could be an issue for you.

1 Like

I love my mistweaver, been playing her almost exclusively for the past 5-6 years. I started Shadowlands with her and ultimately have not been enjoying it in it’s current state. Thus the swap to Holy Paladin.

It really depends on your end game goals. I had no problem with 8/10 normal CN to get my legendary (I’m not a raider). I was also climbing mythic+ with her. If you want to do those things you’ll be fine but the higher you go the more challenging it will get. Mostly because the spec needs to be reworked. Right now it feels weird (to me) because it seems Blizz can’t decide what they want MW to be.