I'm struggling with discipline. Please help

It’s the buttons. There’s so many buttons! :weary:

As shadow I have my main rotation spells, and then utility. Nice and simple, but discipline? Omg I have healing spells, then I need to have a mod to cast on self, or my targets target. Then I have dps spells that need the same, and then I have utility spells

I’m so overwhelmed. How do you guys manage this?

I’ll admit I’m new to healing, so I’m probably still adjusting, but it’s just so many buttons. I see why people refuse to heal :slightly_frowning_face:

I have my healing and damage spells macro’d into the same buttons based on what I’m targeting.

So when I’m targeting an enemy and I press 3 I cast smite, when I’m targeting an ally I cast Shadowmend

I use the addon clique to heal. It allows me to use shift or ctrl clicks to cast different spells. So the majority of my heals are cast with that, leaving the keybinds for my damaging abilities.

There are a ton of abilities even with that. But it keeps it more manageable.

Oh and because clique is all mouseover healing it allows me to keep the kill target targetted, allowing me to get back to damaging faster.

Are you using mouseovers? They’re almost required as Disc, so you can always keep your target as an enemy and just mouseover to heal. I use mousebinds through VuhDo, and I can have each button cast a damage spell or a healing spell depending on if the target is hostile or friendly. Actually, I use way more buttons as Holy than as Disc.

2 Likes

I don’t use any healing addon, I just use macros. Do whatever makes you comfortable.

The macro that I was talking about earlier looks somewhat like this. A little different because of the self cast modifier you use.

#showtooltip
/cast [mod:alt,@player] [@mouseover,help,nodead] Shadow Mend; [@mouseover,harm,nodead] [harm] Smite; Shadow Mend;

I’m not really sure how to simplify it with the self cast modifier but it works.