Holy Vs Disc

With 9.2 coming up I’m curious how the options are looking. I have a resto shaman and have played resto druid before off and on but i have never delved into the world of priests. I am looking to make one (the mogs are enough to keep me interested lol). Even though I’ve never played a priest, the idea of disc has always sounded appealing. I do hear it gets boring, though, which surprises me.

If you were going to roll a priest in anticipation of 9.2 which would you be more inclined to choose? The play would be largely PvE, I may occassionally do PvP but it isnt my main focus. So, anything related to mythic +, raiding, etc is what I’m looking into.

Interested to hear your opinions, thanks!

I just started playing Holy and it’s incredible. They are HPS machines!!! I have been healing M+ with ease.

3 Likes

Hard to say until the patch rolls out and they stop messing with tuning. If it’s like 9.1, I would have recommended Disc. for PvP and Holy for PvE. But that doesn’t mean either spec. isn’t viable in the other mode of play. Holy does quite well in PvP. Disc. in PvE, well, I’d say go for it if you really like the spec., do Mythic raids, or roll with organized groups in M+ where not a lot of damage is taken/no missed interrupts/high dps.

If you like a reactive healer with stronger triage single target healing and just a more mana efficient, pure healing spec., then Holy is the way to go.

If you like a proactive healer doing damage to simultaneously blanket heal your allies for more modest amounts after putting Atonement on them, Disc. is the way to go. Disc. tends to do more damage than Holy as damage is required for Atonement healing. However, this spec. is more punishing if you fall behind by failing to anticipate incoming damage. Disc. also kind of requires a larger group to best leverage Atonement healing (more people to heal). Outside of Salvation, Holy core throughput abilities don’t scale as much as Disc. with group size.

2 Likes