Help please with my Hunter. 9 year hiatus!

Back…befuddled…looking for wisdom
I was a two-boxer last time around. I hear you can have more characters now and trying to decide whether to continue that. Opinions welcome. Both accounts are up, characters renamed, highest chars are 85: all my specs are gone and my gear is trashed, my Hunter has a two handed staff and all her pets are level 1, my Warlock is wearing some funky mask which I have no clue how to take off, my Paladin acquired a green monocle from somewhere and I’m ashamed to say it took me a good 90 seconds to figure out how to dismount my DK. I suppose my first question now that I’ve stumbled out of the gate is… can someone help me understand how to get my Hunters pets lined out. Do I have to retrain them all? Also what’s a level boost?i see these packages for sale that include boosts. OMG. I’m a noob again. tyvm in advance.

Hunter pets now are just whatever level your hunter is. There’s no more leveling them. You can go tame a level 5 animal on your 120, and as soon as it’s tamed it’s magically 120!

When you say your pets are level one, are you looking at your battle pets instead? In Mists of Pandaria, they added a pokemon-style mini-game using what used to be called non-combat pets, which is a whole different thing than hunter pets.

There’s also no training hunter pets now. Whatever a specific pet type has as abilities is what it has. There are 3 main categories: tenacity, cunning, and ferocity. The main difference between the three is each one has it’s own special passive and special on use ability. (For example, ferocity pets give you and your pet a passive leech bonus, and an on-use bloodlust ability.) Pet families generally also have a special ability for that family. (Things like shell shield on turtles and such.)

Here’s a more in-depth guide: