Best dps spec for mage?

When I go to worldofwargraphs and go to Best Mages Rankings (PvE) (at least 1/8 mythic bosses down), the vast majority are fire. But it seems now that at least 90% of mages in my H EP groups are frost. So which does better dps the majority of the time in H EP? Fire or frost?

Is frost better for M+ runs as well?

I am by no means a pro with the fire spec which I cannot play properly but:

Fire is better in both EP and M+ for people skilled at it and properly geared.

M+ has Fire on top if you are playing in coordinated groups that can take advantage of fire. Generally speaking Frost is closer to Fire in M+ pugs.

For fire, you need to be properly geared with 3 BM essences and preferably the Mechagon bracers and socketed Benthic gears for EP raid.

Fire damage mainly revolves around properly executing your combustion phase and is a lot less forgiving than the frost rotation.

3 Likes

Yes, fire is the top PVE spec currently.

But I agree with Jacar… fire is all about perfectly executing every combustion phase. If any combustion isn’t executed absolutely perfectly, DPS is horrible… worse than frost or even arcane.

4 Likes

Play what you are good at and comfortable playing, I cannot stress that enough.

2 Likes

My main is a mage. I really liked arcane because it has little rng, but they did something to mess up the spec. I really like the flow of fire, but as mentioned it needs all the right things to be strong. Frost was always my least favorite but I’ve been playing it now and enjoying it. With my available set up it sims the highest for me and you can alter the game play a lot with your talents and essences.

Like it was said, play what you like cause at the end of the day if you don’t like it you won’t play it. I’d say give frost a go, it’s strong and can handle single and group targets and has cleave.

ok ty for input