Canadian Dollar (CAD) Price Change for World of Warcraft Game Time (Excludes Subscriptions)

If anyone is wondering, the Canadian Government is going to start taxing online services such as Netflix and I suspect games like World of Warcraft. This is probably why the cost went up.

as tax is added after the fact I highly doubt it.
This increase to bulk game time is a marketing ploy in multiple regions to move people to subscriptions. Subscription prices have not gone up so it doesn’t affect me at all as I have an active 6 month subscription.
Trudeau’s latest cash grab when it comes in will cost me an extra 5% though :frowning: feel sorry for people in provinces with a provincial tax.

1 Like

You’d think, but this article seem to imply tax collected by foreign companies on behalf of CA is different.

“Right now, the way in which they’re delivering their services, [foreign companies are] not responsible for the collection. … And so, effectively, it would mean that these [new digital goods] charges would be appearing on [their] invoices.”

Yes much like the states in the US that force Blizzard to collect tax it will be above and beyond. Feel sorry for non-Albertans who will be paying more than 5%

1 Like

shouldn’t everyone on the North American servers be paying the same price after the exchange rates? kind of insulting imo.

5 Likes

After hardly playing since wotlk there were already 2 irritating things. Rating requirement on pvp gear so the better players can crush me even more as they also get farther ahead gear-wise…and so much pve required to keep abilities and gear up

Really? Confusion?? What in the dear lord are you guys thinking…

As a paying Canadian customer since 2008 I am pretty mad about this. I already pay more then Americans do for the game… why gouge us even more???

2 Likes