Why do some Zerg players place their buildings on their front line?

Example here: - YouTube

Serral places his baneling nest at the front of his 2nd hatchery early on in the game. Why? Only thing I can think of is that he wants it to be scouted for the sake of mind games? I tried googling it and zerg building placements but no one seems to mention doing anything like this. BTW I’m a pleb at SC so I don’t really know any terminology.

Could be a common place he practice to put buildings at. Mind games or he want to be scouted. Hard to say.

Looks to me like it is being used as a defensive building to prevent a runby; by the Hellions he spotted earlier.

1 Like

What do u mean by a runby? Also how does the building placement achieve this? I’m new to the game B)

So usually quick moving units can easily run into your base past your defense and into your mineral line to kill your workers and even get some scouting done. Hellions are good at this. By placing buildings + queen (with hold position) in the front of your base it creates a wall preventing any enemy units from getting in.

I’m not sure how effective that 1-building wall is, but I suppose it might delay them by a second or two.

it;s too early to seal off the whole ramp (3 bases) so he wants to protect the natural and main instead

it’s still a huge choke but its small things like those that make a difference in pro i assume

he didn’t want to put tech all in his main it’s more about where it wasn’t more so than where it is
if u add up all those reasons, that’s why overall it was a better macro decision for him to put it at the front of his natural rather than in his main next to his spawning pool
but i doubt this was a win/loss affecting decision, it was probably his complete knowledge of the enemy that won him the game