Upgrades not affecting Mengsk Royal Guard

Weapon and armor upgrades don’t seem to affect Mengsk RG, only the bonuses from leveling up count.

I was quite certain its a visual bug, but just now I bothered to actually check, and it seems that indeed upgrades dont affect RG and I’ve been wasting 900 gas each game for 2 years.

Editor data says likewise.

Curious how many more Mengsk players didn’t realize that.

I just assumed that was how it was supposed to work…
Level upgrades from Ebay only affect Troopers and Enthralled Zerg
Level upgrades on RG come from individually leveling them up. Their rank not only unlocks unique abilities, but also corresponds to the weapon and armor lv upgrades

Thanks to it also buffing the Zeerg, I find that the upgrades prove to be pretty useful. Also the tool tip doesn’t mention RGs, though I wouldn’t blame anyone for not reading them.

True, it is still quite useful as even for a full RG army Im still using Dogs of War on cooldown but I feel pretty fooled that I did not realize weapon and armor upgrades were coming from leveling up only.

I’ll still aim for 3/3 every game but probably with a lower priority now since I mostly faceroll with 9 - 10 Prides P2 or 24 ESOs.

I knew it and keep making it because troopers are still big part of an army, especially in early game.

Knew and never research them cuz I run P2 RGs. Good reminder to let ppl know though.

Surely makes sense to do some/all Weapon upgrades and skip the Armour upgrades? Even level 2 weapons costs a total of just 250/250 (compared to 450/450 for level 3) and should significantly increase the damage output of Dogs of War (especially when it comes to cleaning up enemy bases etc).

Level 3 weapons would double the damage output of Zerglings versus buildings right?