Abathur Prestige 1

I started playing around with the Prestige system and am trying out Abathur’s kit. I figured that his P1 ability (the one with no Brutalisk/Leviathan, but extra Biomass) would be the smallest shift in his playstyle: continuing to focus on his air units, (mostly mutas) and dumping minerals as-needed in Roaches and Static Defenses.

It’s… not working out so well for me, and I can’t tell if it’s because I haven’t played Abathur with Lvl 15 + Mastery Talents in years or whether it’s because there needs to be a substantial shift in his playstyle.

I’m wondering if the Biomass cap for him should move from 125 to like 150 without the Ultimate Evolutions. Even maxxed out… my Mutas feel pretty squishy.

Thoughts?

It’s because at lvl 15 you get the heal with attack damage. ( a big boost in toughness)

The big change is the +50% biomass recovery, which means after lvl ?4?7? or so you have 100% biomass recovery.

This is big, it means you can spam units, because if your 27 biomass roach gets killed…another roach can instantly pick it up.

If you lose 10 mutas at 125 biomass due to aoe…all that biomass is still there ready to be picked up.

Even then Abathur is still very gas heavy and doesn’t roll well into the late game

Like, much of early biomass comes from luring units from encampments. With the loss of the Brutalisk (with AoE ground damage and high health), luring becomes much harder and worse

I personally feel this prestige should be buffed abit, so essence hoarder can grow well into the later parts of the game

1 Like

I believe P1 is meant as an option for mutations (Black Death) and for people who like Abathur, but hate the early Ultimate Evolution farm game. These players did exist even pre-prestige, at least I remember my partners just massing Roaches and Queens filled with Biomass and then they called it a day (they needed early game carry, of course, but that’s just a casual-Abathurs thing).