Just gotten back from eating, queued for competitive play like I would normally, found a match, but was stuck at the main menu and it said rejoin match. I tried clicking it and nothing happened. The game booted me out saying it “Lost connection”, resulting in me getting a -50 SR penalty and a 30 minute competitive ban. Is this for real? The situation was entirely out of my control, and yet I’m being punished for it.
The client has no way of telling if you pulled the plug to avoid a loss or disconnected, so it treats all players the same when they leave a match. Read more here: