Why Storm Rising Was a Bit Lackluster- story wise

my major issue with it is actually the way that the lore was presented 2 us. There was comparatively little, the characters don’t banter with each other like they did in either uprising or retribution. They missed a big opportunity to really flesh out the relationships on this team like how the relationships between the other two teams got fleshed out.

Instead we kind of got 3 characters whose personalities are very similar, and genji. The only discerning factors between tracer, mercy and winston is that winston sounds a bit more sciency, mercy tells us very straightforward whats happening in the world instead of talking abt it like a normal human being would) and tracers a bit lacking in the strategies department. Several dialogue options that include Tracer, winston and mercy could easily be switched between the three of them without any noticeable difference. The only really distinct characterization is really Genji.

lets take a look see, and change characters in interactions from past events and current events.

Moira: I believe you found an expedient solution, commander.
Reyes: Hear that ? The good doctor agrees with my decision.
Genji: You be sure to call her as a character witness then.

Reyes: I still think we should have gone with the original plan of disguising ourselves as the band.
Genji: Do you even play an instrument, boss?
Reyes: Not well.
Genji: (scoff) Details.

Genji: So much for keeping a low profile. The entire city must be awake now.
McCree : Let’s just get out of here alive.
Genji: Perhaps next time we might select a less suicidal plan of attack.

doesn’t work. You cant hear the characters say those lines.

What about Uprising?

Mercy: Null Sector has three anti-aircraft guns set up in King’s Row. We need to clear them out so Torbjörn can drop in his latest monstrosity. Assuming it works!
Torbjorn : It’ll work!
Reinhardt: That’s what you always say.