Why I can't see Gency happening

This is coming from a personal place but…

There is nothing romantic about being an injured person’s caregiver. Or needing a caregiver in the first place. In fact, I’d call it one of the biggest possible turnoffs.

Source: I worked as a caregiver in the healthcare field for 7 years. I have plenty of up close and personal experience looking after a person’s hygiene and physical requirements when they cannot do so for themselves.

Being responsible for a person like that changes how you see them. You spend every day feeding them, clothing them, measuring their vital signs and getting an eyeful of their private parts from every angle because you’re the one who has to clean them so they don’t get skin ulcers. You eventually stop seeing them as private parts. To a caregiver’s perception, they are simply lumps of flesh that need to be sanitized every few hours.

It’s like looking after a giant infant who is way past the stage where the goo goo eyes makes up for all the trouble, and while the reaction of a Total Care Patient (what healthcare calls patients who can’t do anything for themselves) to things like needing someone else to wipe their butt varies, it always wears on the caregiver over time. There’s a special kind of apathy that you develop after hearing variations of “I’m really really sorry, but I’ve got to go to the bathroom and I need you to hold the urinal bucket up to me because I am physically unable to do it on my own” for the 4398347189th time. It’s like hearing “hey, could you pass the pepper shaker”.

Seeing as Genji lost everything but his torso and one arm (a very mangled arm, judging by the remains in his blackwatch skin), he would have needed a lot of this kind of care. If Mercy was the one to provide it, I’m very certain that she would have been desensitized to any perceptions of him as a romantic partner. She spent every day cleaning that junk, there would be no hurry to see it again.