Tips for someone new to overwatch

I’m new to overwatch, while I have played similar games i have never played overwatch till now. Currently I am level 10 and not able to get into competitive so I ma curious. Before I get into competitive are there gamemodes that I should pay attention to so I can get better at this game. From what I have seen also it is important to find heroes in every category to main, any tips on how to exactly find those heroes?

1 Like

In my opinion, the importance of “being flexible” across categories is pretty overrated, especially with the Role Queue arriving in just a fortnight. If you enjoy a specific group of heroes considerably more than another it’s fine to just… stick to those ones.

While competitive is locked for you, Quickplay is probably the best mode to play, as it’s quite similar to the competitive format. If you’re interested in improving as much as possible, watch your own gameplay as well as other peoples and see what you can learn. Make use of the Replay feature.

2 Likes

i started out in the practice range testing each hero, and seeing what they do.

i’d start with one category and then try the others.

i’m nott very good at gIving tips but i don’t wanna leave you empty handed

Just play some games with every hero and find out which ones you like

Role queue is on the way, so… Idk, it is better to just specialize in a role.

Learn what main and off tanks/supports are, learn their synergies, pick accordingly.

Forget medals exist. Having golds means squat.

Press TAB to check team’s ult bank and enemies swaps.

I would always recommend watching hero guides from all the various youtubers, if you have the time.

I watched many of the guides as they came out cuz i find them really entertaining and helpful, but i had a lot more time to learn and it might be harder for you to watch them if you don’t enjoy them.

Knowledge is, like, power or something, right?