The Recent Developer Update On Competitive Play

For everyone who previously said that your performance impacts your MMR, please read Blizzard’s most recent competitive update where they explicitly state that it does not.

They’ve finally publicly admitted that the ONLY factor they consider in computing your MMR is wins/losses. And the ONLY factor they consider in matchmaking is your MMR.

As I’ve been stating for seven years, this is the fundamental problem with OW matchmaking. It’s worse than I thought though, because it’s not even based on individual skill level.

OW2 has made things far, far worse with the visible ranking system being completely unrelated to MMR and being automatically reduced every season. This is especially bad for us bronze players who wind up playing against high silver and gold players at the beginning of every season. It’s grotesquely unfair.

6 Likes

Before OW2 you did get a boost based on match stats. Below diamond rank that is. Now yes its W L only.

This S3 changes are massive and will be a huge change to the way matches are built. I actually have hope things will get at least a little better with them

1 Like

I sort of agree on this one. Personal stats should (in my unpopular opinion) be included into the matchmaking. It can be very frustrating being a high contributor in most of your games, and still losing due to often poor team comp, etc… I dont think it should be the only metric, but should at least contribute. To the credit of the devs, yes, a dps shooting a shielded tank the whole game and getting 20k damage doesnt “contribute” as much as a player the figures out how to flank or swap characters. That being said, it is important to note, that as that 20k damage player progresses, the same tactics wont work as well anymore, and the win rates would level out at a rank they are deserving of until they can figure out how to change, flank etc… they simply wouldnt be able to get that damage anymore without changing play style etc…