The Lore Is Scattered

We have animated shorts, comics, short stories, books, hero trailers, etc. The lore is all over the place, jumbled up, and not easily accessible. I’ve been playing Overwatch since Christmas of 2016 and even I have little idea of what is happening/happened in the story. I hope with Overwatch 2 they add a mode/menu where you can have a complete timeline of the story with resources like where to find the shorts, comics, etc.

5 Likes

I think this is one of the team’s strengths actually, as the voice actor of Sigma said in an IG live, the less they think about lore, the more we do, as we try to fill in the blanks (with fanart, fanfics and discussions)

3 Likes

That doesn’t effect pre existing lore??

I hardly see that as a strength… do you really want the community still thinking Soldier: 76 or Reinhardt could be Pharah’s father? Personally, I wouldn’t lol

8 Likes

You know, at first Jack was just Jack.
Then Blues added his interaction with Tracer which just indicate Blues incorporated father-like personality into Jack.
Then Mercy and Genji interactions like in Valentine or in Storm Rising.
Then D.Va likes unhealthy food what her Halloween grave and Shooting Star show.
And so on, so on…
It’s just Blues doesn’t add everything our Overwatch Community imagine, they are just looking into our lore thoughts, our wishes then they take what they like, what they never imagined before but fans did, and make them cannon in one way or another.
Oh, Sigma VA actually said it I see.

1 Like