Questions for a high school computer science project

To whom it may concern,

I’ve been a big fan of Overwatch for a while, and have always admired your company’s community involvement. I am a high school student in Ontario, Canada, and for a computer science project, we are tasked with contacting someone outside of Canada in the computer science field to ask some questions about what their job entails.

If somebody from the Overwatch team could answer these questions, I would be ecstatic.

1. What does a typical work day look for you? What responsibilities or roles do you take on? Do you get to play Overwatch on the job?
  1. How do you think your work impacts the environment (positive, negative)? What is being done at Blizzard, and your job specifically, to help preserve the environment?
  1. What was your academic background? What did you do before working at Blizzard? How did you get your job at Blizzard?

The project also requires proof that you work in the computer science industry.

Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,

SushiDoge

P.S. Ryūjin no ken wo kurae!

51 Likes

Hey there SushiDoge!

I’m a lead software engineer on the Overwatch team. My team is called Reliability Engineering and at a high level we focus on live operations, build systems, and automation.

As a lead engineer I split my time between individual contribution (like writing code) and managing projects and people. The actual split varies depending on what’s going on, I’m the most happy when it’s somewhere around 40% coding, 60% managing.

A typical day for me starts pretty early. I like to be in the office before the rest of the team. This gives me an opportunity to check on things like our morning scheduled builds. The reliability engineering team takes development productivity very seriously, we want to make sure everyone can do their job when they show up. If builds are broken, that can slow everyone down!