People Who Say Comp is More Balanced Are Incorrect

Me and my team just lost a 5v6 with the enemy team losing their 6th player at the very start of the game. It was very lopsided with them decimating us at every turn. The matchmaker is absolutely abysmal if this is even possible. Of course, as is typical in Overwatch, the enemy team went off on us for being terrible at the game, insulting us all and telling us how much we suck that we lost a 5v6, that it was “ez” etc. Just an absolute swarm of insults hurled left and right. What the actual hell is this game? I just started playing Comp and am unranked and have lost every single match so far except 1. I keep getting put against people that are gold who seem like they belong several ranks higher because they solo carry the enemy team so hard I feel like they’d still win if it was a 3v6.
How is the matchmaker so consistently terrible across ALL game modes? Why do people say comp is more balanced and has a better matchmaker? The matchmaker in comp is worse than quickplay.
It’s also significantly more toxic. I am never insulted by teammates in QP or Arcade but if I’m not the best player to ever exist everyone on my team will insult me no matter what I do.

Update: I am now placed in silver. My experience is exactly the same if not worse.

8 Likes

Welcome to Scott Mercer’s engagement based algorithm

8 Likes

You could always turn off comms/chat. If they are getting to you, they’ve already won. I got tired of muting someone every other match. Waste of my time.

I have personally been on both the winning team with 5 players and the losing team with 6 players. I have even witnessed the occasional 4v6 go the way one might not expect. No reason to brag if you win nor feel embarrassed for losing these joke games. It’s just further evidence of unfortunate and uncompetitive matchmaking. Nothing more to see here folks.

4 Likes

I would say I hope OW2 fixes it but I doubt it lol

2 Likes