Master being put in plat competitive games

I started playing this game in beta. First season I was trash but worked my way up quickly in season 2 and got myself to Grandmaster. Ever since then I floated between gm and master’s. I stopped playing Overwatch competitive around when it started implementing weird bs in season 16. Anyways, that’s another topic altogether. What I really do not understand is why a former GM and current master is now being paired constantly with plats and diamonds??? It’s kind of ruining the experience for me because the skill gap is just too large for any sort of coordination. I know we’re few and far between but it’d be nice to just wait in longer queues instead of giving me aneurysms from the lack of teammates. K, thanks.

5 Likes

How long are you willing to wait?

Dude, you’re fine. The game is broken. But let me tell you that before the cavalry comes in trying to justify why Overwatch is perfect.

4 Likes

Careful now, if you make the matchmaker sad you’ll start getting golds too…

5 Likes

That’s normal?

The game does that when you don’t play for a long time (as it should). There’s no reason you should be playing in masters/GM if you haven’t played the game in months. Skills deteriorate, you have less meta knowledge/experience and are out of practice.

It gives you those lower games and if you win, you return to where you were super fast.

But if you can’t win in ranks 1-2 lower than your supposed ‘real’ rank, then you probably don’t deserve to be there anymore?

1 Like

I think most people around gm would rather not play then get thrown into a low master clown fiesta

I mean even as a DPS i cant be bothered although i enjoy openque currently much more. Idk what it is but people literally just vibe and chill.

Game quality isnt even much worse than master/ low gm games

2 Likes

I’m plat and I got put into high diamond/masters games recently. wtf. I was out of my depth haha

1 Like