I was ranked way higher than I deserve in open queue seasons 1 and 2

So ever since the new ‘competitive open queue’ became a thing, I’ve noticed it places me way higher than what my normal SR is.

When I started playing the game about four years ago (dang, four years…) I was ranked gold. As I’ve learned the complexities of the game and specialized in certain heroes, I’ve been able to climb to low diamond pretty consistently now. That’s honestly where I think my skill level is at.

Once I tried out the placement games in open queue, I could instantly feel a higher level of intensity in the gameplay. The term ‘sweaty’ is how I would describe it best. Lo and behold, I was placed in high masters. At first I was like “Sweet! I guess I’m better than I thought” but pretty quickly I realized how wrong the placement was. I was in a way higher elo than I should’ve been, and that honestly just sucks, for everyone.

I haven’t tried any placements for season 3 yet. I don’t enjoy the stress and the pressure to perform at a high level when I clearly don’t belong there.

1 Like

Pretty common experience from what I’ve seen, the mode is a mess.

6 Likes

Yea pretty much everyone is getting an SR boost over there.

4 Likes

LOL its chaos and there’s no SR right now. It will take months to sort out if it stays.

3 Likes

Unlucky. I had people quit three of my games and lost 4 due to normal reasons so I got the other end of the stick where I got placed mid gold when I’m normally a diamond to masters player

1 Like

“YOu ArE At DA RaNK YOu BeLOnG” right?

2 Likes

Play more games and you will be placed in your correct rank.

1 Like

Weird I was in platinum at the time I placed in silver in open queue. I was trying to learn how to play Widowmaker and Doomfist, so I thought a fresh start using open queue would be a good and fair idea.

Imo it’s because it is effectively an Mmr reset

1 Like

That’s it - they don’t seem to be basing it off of your existing MMR/SR.