BSOD Blue Screen When Playing Overwatch 2 - Anyone else?

I had no issues with Overwatch 1 but ever since I started playing Overwatch 2 I am consistently getting Blue Screen of Death crashes. Error “DPC Watchdog Violation” Anytime I try and play Overwatch 2 I eventually run into a BSOD. I can be 4 games in before it happens, or it could freeze up in the queue while trying to get into the game.

Steps I have attempted:

• Command prompt: sfc /scannow
  • Fresh reinstallation of graphics driver. I am on game ready 517.48 from Nvidia.
  • Scan and repair of OW2 installation (no repair required)
  • All windows updates

At this point I’m at a loss, I have made no recent changes to my system other than the Game Ready Driver and the OW2 installation. No new hardware has been plugged in, nothing new has been installed.

Dxdiag

25 Likes

The exact same here!

3 Likes

Exactly the same problem !

Possible solution:
If I right-click and exit out of the Nvidia and Razer icons in the system tray (bottom right corner), the game launches fine. But if something’s running in the background, OW2 insta-bluescreens on me on launch with one of these stop errors:

[SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION]
[IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL]

So, try exiting out of any and all background programs you have running, and see if the game launches successfully…

My error is a “DPC Watchdog Violation” and it’s not something that happens when I launch overwatch. It happens randomly when I’m playing. Sometimes 15 minutes in, sometimes 3 hours in.

10 Likes

Same here, just got on and had it crash within 20 min of launch, yesterday it happened ab 3 hours after launch.
Running a NVIDIA 1660 Super, no background apps, disabled razer chroma, have updated drivers for Sata controllers and SSD Firmware, no fix yet :frowning:

Have had this exact same issue about 3-4 times now with most being during comp games just to make it even worse. Not a single clue why or how it happens but it never happened to me during Beta 1 & 2.