Are Support Characters Good For Climbing?

I know that you can climb with any class if you are good enough, but the key word there is good enough. What if you aren’t super good at one hero but feel as though you could still be at a higher rank than you are right now? Would supports work for that? If not, which class would be best for that?

Went from 2200 to 2800 in a few hours only playing mercy.

Made an alt placed at 3000 went to 3250 in a few hours. Only playing mercy.

In Short answer. YES!

Most of the supports are flexible and useful most of the time.

Here are some of the supports that will always be useful: Mercy, Ana, Zen and the left overs can be used, but some counter heroes make it hard to be played.

I think that list is missing brig

If you believe that you should be higher you should definitely play DPS. Solid DPS dominates until at least Diamond. I have no experience from higher.

I had to go tank main in Silver to get away from there. Since I found out that tank plays were terrible. Now I am facing similar situation in Platinum where I think there are too many DPS players who should be gold or are hard stuck Platinum like me. As a Rein main you notice the difference when you get 3000+ DPS in your team…ouh boy it is wonderful to play then :slight_smile: .

1 Like

It is easier to carry on dps, but it is easier to consistently climb on support.

Dps have the inherent ability to just completely outplay enemies due to the ‘limitless potential’ heroes like tracer and widow have. However that isn’t super realistic most of the time. Usually it is easier to climb by being consistently a valuable asset to the team so over a large enough sample size you win more games than you lose.

Support is great for climbing because after mastering the mechanics, there isn’t a ton of upkeep needed to play the role. You can just hop into a game and always perform decent.

3 Likes