I m just wondering if “linked” accounts are same as “merged” accounts.
Basically I played most of the time on PS - I spent couple hundreds hours there, now I m playing on xbox and PC, but not so much. I dont have that PS anymore, but back in that time, I already linked battlenet account. So, now I can see that my account is linked with PS and XBOX
Question is : is there any necessary step I need to do for transferring my progress from PS, which was quite huge ?
I dont have that game on disc anymore ( game was sold with PS4) and any digi copy cannot be buy anymore.
But - as I can see my battlenet “linked” with PS and XBOX, I suggest it is same as “merged” ?
OK, so I dig up around.
I checked battlenet page and found out that my account are linked. Which is ok and that is part of “linking”.
I logged in to Overwatch viaPC ( at least that worked for me ), and Game prompted me to Account merge - > then I saw my both accounts, one for xbox and old one for PlayStation. After that, I clicked on “Confirm” and both accounts are now showing as “confirmed / merged”.
So I guess that should be it. I will check that on xbox, if something changed from that side, but from what I see now, it seems like battlenet is now properly merged with PS and XBOX accounts ( at least from my side on PC as both accounts from consoles are appearing in the game now).
Anyway - from that point - “Linked accounts ARE NOT SAME AS MERGED ACCOUNTS” Watch out for that. But if you have linked accounts, you should be able to merged them via PC without accessing them on console.
However, I m not sure if that is possible to do AFTER official launch. So I purchased Watchpoint pack, because I had to install OW on PC, and then I was able to login into the game on PC - > confirm both accounts via PC in the game.
However, for the next time, Blizz should be careful about terms which you are using : linked, merged and confirmed (which is appearing in the game) are three terms, one is about linking accounts, and two are about same state (merged / confirmed).