A quick Mercy Survey

Update: Survey is now closed. Thank you so much for all who participated! Results can be found here.

Alright, so as we all know, Mercy has been a popular subject around here. As such, there have been many opinions on how to handle her, as well as many accusations thrown around on both sides.

That said, I prefer data over opinions. So instead of all this back and forth “he said she said”, for the next few days I’ll be running a survey so we can finally sort through what’s actually a popular opinion, what’s baseless accusations, what the quiet ones are thinking without fear of being drowned out, and, most importantly, so we can get a solid understanding of where the devs should go from here. Bad comes to worse, at least this will allow us to get all of our ideas in one place.

I should probably note I’m not a professional survey-maker. I tried my best, but there’s always room for improvement.

The results are private for now to encourage everyone to be 100% honest, though of course I plan on sharing the results publicly in due time, probably in a new thread.

I figured I might as well make an FAQ-esque section to this to try and help address what I feel to be common concerns, and so you don’t necessarily have to scroll through the entire thread to find the 3 posts where I might’ve answered something.

What do you plan to do with this information?

On top of looking at the obvious questions such as “Do people find her enjoyable”, I also hope to see if I can go into more detail on the different demographics and try to tackle some common stereotypes such as “Everyone who think she’s fine doesn’t actually play her” and “All Mercy mains seem to enjoy is Mass Res and nothing more”.

I’ll also see if I can release a cleaned up copy of the CSV alongside my interpretation of the results so those who are interested can look through for themselves if they wish to either double check my math or look for new findings/correlations.