Where does Anub fit in?

I recently started playing him and he seems to be at an in-between. Doesn’t feel as tanky as others, but has too many tanking tools and lack of damage to be a bruiser. As the main tank I struggle to make it work, but as a 2nd tank he seems much stronger. Does he require dps teammates to be more on-point than other tanks to be effective?

Also, buff beetle friends plz

2 Likes

The trick to Anub is using his abilities wisely. Using W when he is about to take damage, rather than on CD, makes him surprisingly tanky. Preventing people from hitting you and peeling with Q means he takes less damage overall. And save your E for an escape, or when you know there will be follow up and can guarantee a kill.

5 Likes

I’ll try these things more. I tend to play more offensive than defensive, expecting maybe more follow up than I should.

How aggressive we’ve talking
Trust me when I say It is easy to dive long past your teams capabilities to follow you with Anub, I’ve seen this more then enough times to hate the tank when in pugs.

1 Like

The build I usually use on him in SL is:

1. Any, depending on the enemy comp. If they had a lot of ability damage, like a mage + Alarak or double mage, I take Nerubian Armor. If it is a lot of AA damage, Regeneration Master. If they have a very balanced mix, but are heavily dependent on skill shots, like Stitches, Ming, or Tracer, I let the beetles do my work.

2. Bed of Barbs if I need more AoE damage or slows, or if they have a stealthy, otherwise I always take Shed Exoskeleton. I am a huge fan of move speed, and taking Underking means it is likely I am diving too hard and will get myself killed. If I do have a full dive comp, especially with a second front line like Tyrael, I may go Underking.

3. Chitinous Plating. Always.

4. Cocoon. What, he has another level 10? Use it wisely.

5. Uriticating Spines, usually. If it is a map like Infernal Shrines, or we need more wave clear, Burning Rage.

6. Epicenter. Always.