Genji Rework Concept

I started playing Genji a few months ago, and he quickly became one of my main heroes because of how fun he is. However, after a few hundred games with him, I realized he does have some issues, the most glaring ones (to me, at least) being that he definitely lacks wave/camp clear as an Assassin and that he has quite a bunch of severely underpicked talents.

My goal with this rework concept is to grant Genji some quality of life changes and additions that alleviate these issues, without turning him into a macro monster or making him better at certain tasks than more specialized heroes.

I have also tried adding more nuance and complexity to Genji’s talents, and, while the main objective is to rebalance them, they were given some slight buffs overall to help our poor cyber-ninja with his winrate. Some of my ideas might be more extreme than others, and including them in Genji’s kit makes it quite hard to balance, so consider it a work in progress. I am very aware that buffing a hero with a high skill floor/ceiling can make them absolutely broken in the right hands, which is why I would be happy to get some feedback on this concept.

While I think I have enough experience to bring my opinion to the table, I would love to hear from even more experienced Genji players if possible, as there are probably many things I haven’t thought of.

I have included only my versions of affected abilities and talents, you can check out Genji’s wiki to compare with his live version.

Italic means Added Functionality
=> means Value Change

Abilities

Cyber Agility (D)
Cooldown: 20 seconds

Activate to jump to the target area.

Passive: Genji’s Basic Attacks deal 10% bonus damage to enemies in melee range.

Shuriken (Q)
Mana: 20
Cooldown: 12 seconds

Throw 3 Shuriken in a spread pattern, each dealing 65 damage and piercing up to 1 Minion, Mercenary or Monster.

Stores up to 3 charges. Shuriken’s cooldown replenishes all charges at the same time.

Talents