How does the coin work exactly

Hi people! I do hope all of you have a very nice day.

There is a chance that I am missing something in the situations I will be discribing shortly - if that is the case I am very sorry.

Recently I had a game against a mage who would play his Cosmic Keyboard. He would also play cards like Cold Case and Deathborne with it to summon 4/4 and 6/6. No harm done here. They are spells and can therefore summon minions according to the weapon. Then he would also play a coin - which to my knowledge would count as a spell. Obviously this will be stupid summoning a 0/0 that would instantly die - but it is a spell and it should waste a durability doing this. At least to my knowledge and to the description of the card as I see it.

This confuses me - and the following will hopefully make an understanding of my confusion

Today I played a game against a priest who would play Love Everlasting. And obviously he now have to play a spell every turn in order for this to keep going. He would on his turn 4 or 5 play a School Teacher which is obviously not a spell - and afterwards he would paly the coin he had which to my understanding still is a spell. Love Everlasting kept going, so it was confirmed that The Coin is a spell in this situation - but that makes the first situation above really confusing.

Can someone elaborate this? Or should I try to report this in under bugs?

Thanks alot for reading
Can’t wait to enjoy the summer inside in front of my PC with you guys.

Kind regards
Renince

I believe this is intentional. Cosmic keyboard does not lose durability if you cast any 0 cost spell.

However I have not seen any comment from Blizzard if this is supposed to work like this.

if it turns out to be unintentional, i hope they make it consistent. because, those scenarios together make no sense. good to know though, cuz i was intentionally not playing coin with that weapon equipped to not waste a durability. guess i made some suboptimal plays those games…lol

1 Like

Fun fact: the spell cast by the nagaling created by school teacher does count as you, the player, casting the spell. I say this because if you tell it to cast an overload spell, it will overload you.

1 Like

That makes so little sense in my world that it does. I am happy that you tell me - but I find that to be somewhat of an unintentinal malfunction - at least how I understand the words which are described on the cards.
Considering you guys spend way more time on these forums than I do - would you believe there is any chance that some employee would see this matter and maybe take it into consideration? - Details matter!

Kind regards

From a gameplay standpoint, it would be extremely annoying if a coin actually counted down durability. You would be forced to hold on to that coin and actively hurt your momentum.

Developers would also have to increase the power of these cards if coins counted down durability. The coin has long lasting effects throughout the game that make up for going second, and restricting the use of the coin would have wide ranging effects.

1 Like

I completely agree with you Nanni - without a doubt. But it doesn’t change the fact that The Coin counts as a spell in one case - and not as a spell in another. A solution is obviously to add to Cosmic Keyboard that it only works on spells which costs 1 or more mana.

And to Chiapet - another funny part about that point you are making right there is the fact that the spell cast by the nagaling does not trigger cat trick - so it would appear that it doesn’t count as if the player casts a spell - unless of course it is overload as you are describing. This is a perfect example of that there are always exeptions to rules - the difficult part is that you have to figure them out yourself, cause developers conceded somewhere.

You do not need to cast the spell yourself to be overloaded by it.

1 Like

I would say this is wrong, because I remember that you can play nagaling into Counterspell, but not into objection, because it’s a minion. And yes you will still get overloaded, but this has nothing to do with the fact that the player isn’t the caster. Same applies to Yogg-Saron Hope’s End, who is the caster of a number of spells (you played in the game) and if he casts overload spells, you still get the overload effect.

No.

General rules of Spells from Minions are:

  • The spell’s effect resolves on behalf of the hero that owns the minion. If the effect is to draw cards, the hero will draw cards. If the effect is to gain mana, the hero will gain mana. If the effect is to discard cards, the hero will discard cards. If the effect is to overload mana, the hero gains overloaded crystal. Etc.
  • Passive enhancements that apply to the hero will also apply to the minion. If you somehow have +12 spell damage and Prophet Velen on the field and the minion casts Sinister Strike, your opponent will be hit for 30 damage.
  • Triggered events require your hero to take a spell card from your hand, pay the cost, and actively play it in order to count. As such, these minions and even spells that recast themselves won’t trigger such events as the player is obviously not doing this. Mana Wyrm will not gain attack. Yogg’Saron, Hope’s End will not increase its spell counter. Spellburst minions will not trigger their effects. Wild Pyromancer will not AOE.
    Etc.

I played forbidden flame and it didn’t trigger cosmic keyboard either.

1 Like

My guess is that because there are no 0/0 minions, the check fails as invalid and no durability is used because only after a summon would you get a deduction.

For this and the OP. It probably does nothing for a similar reason as why secrets like Mirror Entity, Explosive Runes, etc won’t trigger when a played minion dies before the after phase (A Brann on the field and play Injured Kvaldir situation). They won’t trigger if the result will produce no effect. Summoning a 0/0 minion is the same thing as summoning nothing. So it doesn’t react.

2 Likes

Perhaps it has to do with the Minion rather than the spell. If a minions stats are changed through a swap effect it is, I’d imagine, looked at as an additional effect stapled onto the card even when in hand, so that would explain being able to play 0 health minions from hand. But since its generating a new minion maybe the game doesn’t allow you to generate a 0/0 minion outright? I’d imagine the game just doesn’t have a 0/0 token in the files, but I could be wrong.

Thanks alot to everyone who is participating in this - I like your thoughts alot. To some extend I would argue that it was a reasonable question I put up considering the involvement of the answering people.

Thanks alot again

1 Like