Fair warning Rant: Spell mage

What a cup of junk. I built a no minion mage and proceeded to go 0 for 8 with it in Standard. Blizzard has destroyed Mage.
They stripped tempo mage
They nerfed control mage
They gave us part of an elemental mage and then abandoned it
And now they give us part of a spell mage deck.
Mind you, not the part that makes it viable.
And so now what mage has is a collection of junk with almost no synergy or consistency.
Whomever thought up these cards has colossal
gall calling themselves a developer.
I have zero experience and I could have done better
#EpicFail

6 Likes

Hey man, at least you’re not a shaman player.

13 Likes

I’m not one to go with very agressive posts but Mage feels like it was spread thin in too many directions.

We had Highlander Mage (which I bet will still be the go-to Mage deck when the meta settles)

Galakrond’s awakening then had a Elemental Mage put on the table and it was actually half-decent, but was simply undertunned in comparison to the meta. Then Elemental Mage was basically scraped with Mountain Giant HoF, and even more with the actual rotation.

Then you have No-Minion mage that has good cards (and seems to be something like a tempo deck?), but it’s way too reliant on RNG to be actually consistent.

There’s also some Secret Mage support, but we lack the draw, (and maybe card space, to make the deck actually work. Ice Barrier is hardly useful when hunter is killing you from hand and most classes can generate resources to actually respond to your Armor, and there are hardly enough token decks and small minions to justify Flame Ward. Counterspell and the new secrets seems pretty good but not enough.